AACB 55th Annual Scientific Conference

AACB 55th Annual Scientific Conference

12-14 September 2017, Pullman Melbourne Albert Park Hotel, VIC

Latest News

It is our pleasure to invite you to the Australasian Association of Clinical Biochemist’s 55th Annual Scientific Conference to be held in Melbourne's Albert Park lake area. The venue is close to one of our premier hospitals, and this has inspired our 2017 meeting theme of Time Sensitive Testing.

The Program Committee have put together an exciting program providing a mix of current concepts and strategies to deliver the timely diagnostic services required for clinical management. Top international and local scientific luminaries have been invited include:

  • Professor Hans Schneider (Direction of Pathology, Alfred Hospital) will present the 2017 David Curnow Plenary Lecture on ' Critical Result Communication'.
  • Dr Sunil Sethi (National Hospital Singapore; President of the Asia Pacific Federation of Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine) will deliver the Tuesday plenary lecture on “Laboratory response times - meeting clinical needs”.
  • Prof Jeffery Lipman (Director of Intensive Care Services at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital) will present the 'Assessment of the shocked patient' on Wednesday.
  • Dr Mario Plebani (Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology, School of Medicine, University of Padova; Chief of the Department of Laboratory Medicine, University Hospital of Padova; Chief of the Center of Biomedical Research, Italy) will present the QAP Plenary on Thursday titled 'Detection and prevention of errors in the time-sensitive testing situation'.
  • Prof Olaf Drummer (Head of School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine’s Department of Forensic Medicine and Deputy Director at the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine) will deliver the closing thought provoking plenary lecture on drug driving from roadside to emergency to coroner.

Complementing these plenary lecturers, concurrent symposium sessions will focus on relevant innovations in the field. The popular poster hot topic and oral sessions will again be offered in addition to the poster presentation sessions to showcase the work and achievements of our young and more experienced scientists and clinicians.

With great support again from our industry partners we anticipate this meeting to be both intellectually rewarding and thought provoking. We trust you find the scientific program to be outstanding and we look forward to your active participation.

Ronda Greaves
Chair, Scientific Program Committee

Mark these dates in your diary today!

Scientific Program Committee

Dr Ronda Greaves (Chair)
Mrs Intissar Bittar
Ms Valena Braniff
Mr Peter Graham (QAP)
Mrs Lisa King (Event Manager)
Mrs Megan Lavender
Ms Helen Martin
Dr Alan McNeil
Ms Maxine Reed (SRAC)
Ms Jill Tate